International Society for Quantitative History

QH Webinar Series

The Ant and the Grasshopper: Seasonality and the Invention of Agriculture

12:00 | Thursday, August 12, 2021

Zoom Webinar

English

Andrea Matranga

Andrea Matranga

Assistant Professor of Economics, Chapman University

© Deutsch: Maler der Grabkammer des Sennudem English: Painter of the burial chamber of Sennedjem, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons

During the Neolithic Revolution, seven populations independently invented agriculture. Andrea Matranga of Chapman University argues that this innovation was a response to a large increase in climatic seasonality. In the most affected regions, hunter-gatherers abandoned their traditional nomadism in order to store food and smooth their consumption. Their new sedentary lifestyle greatly simplified the invention and adoption of agriculture. In this Quantitative History Webinar, Andrea Matranga presents a model that captures the key incentives for adopting agriculture, and explain how the resulting predictions are tested against a global panel dataset of climate conditions and Neolithic adoption dates. Andrea Matranga finds that invention and adoption were both systematically more likely in places with higher seasonality. The findings of his paper imply that seasonality patterns 10,000 years ago were amongst the major determinants of the order in which different regions received agriculture, which in turn had a decisive influence on the rise of civilizations and subsequent human history.

Live on Zoom on August 12
12:00 Hong Kong/Beijing/Singapore
13:00 Tokyo | 14:00 Sydney
Previous Day 21:00 Los Angeles

Thursday, August 12, 2021

Zoom Webinar

Andrea Matranga

English

The Quantitative History Webinar Series aims to provide researchers, teachers, and students with an online intellectual platform to keep up to date with the latest research in the field, promoting the dissemination of research findings and interdisciplinary use of quantitative methods in historical research. The Series, now in its third year, is co-organized by the International Society for Quantitative History, HKU Business School, and Hong Kong Institute for the Humanities and Social Sciences. 量化歷史網上講座系列由香港大學陳志武和馬馳騁教授聯合發起,旨在介紹前沿量化歷史研究成果、促進同仁交流,推廣量化方法在歷史研究中的應用。本系列講座由國際量化歷史學會、香港大學經管學院和香港人文社會研究所全力支持和承辦。

Conveners: Professor Zhiwu Chen & Dr. Chicheng Ma (HKU Business School)

What's On

International Society for Quantitative History

The International Society for Quantitative History (ISFQH) is an independent, not-for-profit organization dedicated to promoting, supporting, and enhancing the advancement of education, in particular research and knowledge dissemination in quantitative history, in Hong Kong and other parts of the world.

© 2022 International Society for Quantitative History | Registered Charity Number: 91/15784
All rights reserved.