International Society for Quantitative History

QH Webinar Series

Discretion and Destruction: Promotions, Performance, and Patronage in the Royal Navy

16:00 | Thursday, September 17, 2020

Zoom Webinar

English

Hans-Joachim Voth

Hans-Joachim Voth

UBS Foundation Professor of Economics, University of Zurich

Dominic Serres / Public domain

Patronage is a byword for poor performance, yet its effect on the quality of selection is theoretically ambiguous. Professor Joachim Voth and his co-author study the selection effects of patronage in the world’s most successful navy – the British Royal Navy between 1690 and 1849. Using newly collected data on the battle performance of more than 5,800 naval officers, they find that promotees with family ties to the top of the naval hierarchy outperformed unconnected ones. This result is not driven by better assignments, crews, or equipment. There was substantial heterogeneity among the admirals in charge of promotions. Discretion over appointments thus created scope for "good” and "bad” patronage. In this Quantitative History Webinar, Joachim will explain in detail the overall selection effect of patronage.

Joachim's coauthor is Guo Xu (Haas School of Business).

Live on Zoom on September 17, 2020
09:00 London | 10:00 Zurich | 16:00 Hong Kong/Beijing/Singapore | 17:00 Tokyo | 18:00 Sydney

Thursday, September 17, 2020

Zoom Webinar

Hans-Joachim Voth

English

The Quantitative History Webinar Series aims to provide researchers, teachers, and students with an online intellectual platform to keep up to date with the latest research in the field, promoting the dissemination of research findings and interdisciplinary use of quantitative methods in historical research. The Series, now in its third year, is co-organized by the International Society for Quantitative History, HKU Business School, and Hong Kong Institute for the Humanities and Social Sciences. 量化歷史網上講座系列由香港大學陳志武和馬馳騁教授聯合發起,旨在介紹前沿量化歷史研究成果、促進同仁交流,推廣量化方法在歷史研究中的應用。本系列講座由國際量化歷史學會、香港大學經管學院和香港人文社會研究所全力支持和承辦。

Conveners: Professor Zhiwu Chen & Dr. Chicheng Ma (HKU Business School)

What's On

International Society for Quantitative History

The International Society for Quantitative History (ISFQH) is an independent, not-for-profit organization dedicated to promoting, supporting, and enhancing the advancement of education, in particular research and knowledge dissemination in quantitative history, in Hong Kong and other parts of the world.

© 2022 International Society for Quantitative History | Registered Charity Number: 91/15784
All rights reserved.