International Society for Quantitative History

QH Webinar Series

Heroes and Villains: The Effects of Heroism on Autocratic Values and Nazi Collaboration in France

12:00 | Thursday, December 9, 2021

Zoom Webinar

English

Pauline Grosjean

Pauline Grosjean

Professor of Economics, UNSW Business School

French Regiment Verdun 1916, French photographer, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons

Pauline Grosjean of UNSW Business School and her co-authors measure the effects of a network of heroes in legitimizing and diffusing extreme political behaviors. Exploiting newly-declassified intelligence files, novel voting data and regimental histories, they show the home municipalities of French line regiments arbitrarily rotated through Philippe Pétain's command during the heroic WWI battle of Verdun, though similar before WWI, increasingly espouse Pétain's authoritarian political views thereafter, raising 7% more active Nazi collaborators per capita during the Pétain-led Vichy regime (1940-44).

In this Quantitative History Webinar, Pauline Grosjean explains why the effects are similar across joining Fascist parties, German forces, paramilitaries hunting Jews and the Resistance, and collaborating economically.

Pauline's co-author: Julia Cagé (Sciences Po Paris and CEPR), Anna Dagorret (Stanford Graduate School of Business), and Saumitra Jha (Stanford Graduate School of Business)

Discussant: Felipe Valencia Caicedo, Assistant Professor of Economics, Vancouver School of Economics, The University of British Columbia

Live on Zoom on December 9, 2021
12:00 Hong Kong/Beijing/Singapore
13:00 Tokyo | 15:00 Sydney
Previous Day 20:00 Los Angeles | 23:00 New York

Thursday, December 9, 2021

Zoom Webinar

Pauline Grosjean

English

The Quantitative History Webinar Series aims to provide researchers, teachers, and students with an online intellectual platform to keep up to date with the latest research in the field, promoting the dissemination of research findings and interdisciplinary use of quantitative methods in historical research. The Series, now in its third year, is co-organized by the International Society for Quantitative History, HKU Business School, and Hong Kong Institute for the Humanities and Social Sciences. 量化歷史網上講座系列由香港大學陳志武和馬馳騁教授聯合發起,旨在介紹前沿量化歷史研究成果、促進同仁交流,推廣量化方法在歷史研究中的應用。本系列講座由國際量化歷史學會、香港大學經管學院和香港人文社會研究所全力支持和承辦。

Conveners: Professor Zhiwu Chen & Dr. Chicheng Ma (HKU Business School)

What's On

International Society for Quantitative History

The International Society for Quantitative History (ISFQH) is an independent, not-for-profit organization dedicated to promoting, supporting, and enhancing the advancement of education, in particular research and knowledge dissemination in quantitative history, in Hong Kong and other parts of the world.

© 2022 International Society for Quantitative History | Registered Charity Number: 91/15784
All rights reserved.