International Society for Quantitative History

QH Webinar Series

How (not) to get published

16:00 | Thursday, November 26, 2020

English

Hans-Joachim Voth

Hans-Joachim Voth

UBS Foundation Professor of Economics, University of Zurich

Free photo 5581667 © Suto Norbert - Dreamstime.com

Getting published is crucial for academic success. For most young scholars, the process is often daunting, frustrating, and confusing. This webinar is addressed to those who are just getting started in the publishing game -- doctoral students, post-docs, APs. Based on his own experience as an editor over the last 12 years at a variety of journals (European Review of Economic History, Explorations in Economic History, Economic Journal), Hans-Joachim Voth, in this Quantitative History Webinar, mostly talks about pitfalls and simple strategies for improving one's chances -- what to avoid, and what to do.

This event is mostly for doctoral students and post-docs.

Live on Zoom on November 26, 2020
16:00 Hong Kong/Beijing/Singapore
08:00 London | 09:00 Zurich | 17:00 Tokyo | 19:00 Sydney

Thursday, November 26, 2020

Hans-Joachim Voth

English

The Quantitative History (QH) Webinar Series aims to provide researchers, teachers, and students with an online intellectual platform to keep up to date with the latest research in the field, promoting the dissemination of research findings and interdisciplinary use of quantitative methods in historical research. The QH Webinar Series, now entering its fourth year, is co-organized by Centre for Quantitative History at the HKU Business School and International Society for Quantitative History in partnership with Hong Kong Institute for the Humanities and Social Sciences. The Series is now substantially supported by the Areas of Excellence (AoE) Scheme from the Research Grants Council of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, China (Project No. [AoE/B-704/22-R]). 量化歷史網上講座系列由香港大學陳志武和馬馳騁教授聯合發起,旨在介紹前沿量化歷史研究成果、促進同仁交流,推廣量化方法在歷史研究中的應用。本系列講座由香港大學經管學院量化歷史研究中心和國際量化歷史學會承辦,及香港人文社會研究所全力支持。從2023年開始,系列得到中國香港特別行政區研究資助局卓越學科領域計劃的重要資助 (項目編號[AoE/B-704/22-R])。

Conveners: Professor Zhiwu Chen & Dr. Chicheng Ma (HKU Business School)


What's On

International Society for Quantitative History

The International Society for Quantitative History (ISFQH) is an independent, not-for-profit organization dedicated to promoting, supporting, and enhancing the advancement of education, in particular research and knowledge dissemination in quantitative history, in Hong Kong and other parts of the world.

© 2024 International Society for Quantitative History | Registered Charity Number: 91/15784
All rights reserved.