International Society for Quantitative History

QH Webinar Series

The Rise of State Capacity in Europe, Asia and the Rest of the World since 1500

16:00 | Thursday, September 23, 2021

Zoom Webinar

English

Şevket Pamuk

Şevket Pamuk

Professor of Economics and Economic History, Bogaziçi University

Paolo Forlani, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons

State capacity has emerged as a key concept in the literature on development economics and political economy. Economic historians have also been providing important insights into the relationship between the rise of modern states and economic growth in the long run.

In this Quantitative History Webinar, Şevket Pamuk of Boğaziçi (Bosphorus) University reviews the rise of state capacity (and the Tax Revenues / GDP ratio) around the world since 1500 based on joint work with Kivanç Karaman. He will also explore the implications of the early rise of state capacity in Europe on Asia and the rest of the world since 1800. He argues that while the European and the non-European paths may seem similar, state capacity was and continue to be built under very different circumstances in Europe and in the rest of the world.

Live on Zoom on September 23, 2021
16:00 Hong Kong/Beijing/Singapore
09:00 London | 11:00 Istanbul | 17:00 Tokyo | 18:00 Sydney

Thursday, September 23, 2021

Zoom Webinar

Şevket Pamuk

English

The Quantitative History Webinar Series aims to provide researchers, teachers, and students with an online intellectual platform to keep up to date with the latest research in the field, promoting the dissemination of research findings and interdisciplinary use of quantitative methods in historical research. The Series, now in its third year, is co-organized by the International Society for Quantitative History, HKU Business School, and Hong Kong Institute for the Humanities and Social Sciences. 量化歷史網上講座系列由香港大學陳志武和馬馳騁教授聯合發起,旨在介紹前沿量化歷史研究成果、促進同仁交流,推廣量化方法在歷史研究中的應用。本系列講座由國際量化歷史學會、香港大學經管學院和香港人文社會研究所全力支持和承辦。

Conveners: Professor Zhiwu Chen & Dr. Chicheng Ma (HKU Business School)

What's On

International Society for Quantitative History

The International Society for Quantitative History (ISFQH) is an independent, not-for-profit organization dedicated to promoting, supporting, and enhancing the advancement of education, in particular research and knowledge dissemination in quantitative history, in Hong Kong and other parts of the world.

© 2022 International Society for Quantitative History | Registered Charity Number: 91/15784
All rights reserved.