International Society for Quantitative History

QH Webinar Series

Transition to Agriculture and First State Presence

16:00 | Thursday, April 8, 2021

Zoom Webinar

English

Ola Olsson

Ola Olsson

Professor of Economics, University of Gothenburg

unbekannt, Maler im Alten Ägypten, FAL, via Wikimedia Commons

It has often been observed that the emergence of states in a region is typically preceded by an earlier transition to agricultural production. Using new data on the date of first state emergence within contemporary countries, Ola Olsson and his co-authors present a global scale analysis of the chronological relationship between the transition to agriculture and the subsequent emergence of states. They find statistically significant relationships between early reliance on agriculture and state age in all sub-samples. In this Quantitative History Webinar, Ola Olsson of University of Gothenburg will explore how their findings show that this relationship is not markedly different in cases where states were imposed from outside or when they emerged through internal origination.

Ola's co-authors: Oana Borcan (University of Gothenburg) and Louis Putterman (Brown University)

Live on Zoom on April 8, 2021
16:00 Hong Kong/Beijing/Singapore
09:00 London | 10:00 Gothenburg 17:00 Tokyo | 18:00 Sydney

Thursday, April 8, 2021

Zoom Webinar

Ola Olsson

English

The Quantitative History (QH) Webinar Series aims to provide researchers, teachers, and students with an online intellectual platform to keep up to date with the latest research in the field, promoting the dissemination of research findings and interdisciplinary use of quantitative methods in historical research. The QH Webinar Series, now entering its fourth year, is co-organized by Centre for Quantitative History at the HKU Business School and International Society for Quantitative History in partnership with Hong Kong Institute for the Humanities and Social Sciences. The Series is now substantially supported by the Areas of Excellence (AoE) Scheme from the Research Grants Council of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, China (Project No. [AoE/B-704/22-R]). 量化歷史網上講座系列由香港大學陳志武和馬馳騁教授聯合發起,旨在介紹前沿量化歷史研究成果、促進同仁交流,推廣量化方法在歷史研究中的應用。本系列講座由香港大學經管學院量化歷史研究中心和國際量化歷史學會承辦,及香港人文社會研究所全力支持。從2023年開始,系列得到中國香港特別行政區研究資助局卓越學科領域計劃的重要資助 (項目編號[AoE/B-704/22-R])。

Conveners: Professor Zhiwu Chen & Dr. Chicheng Ma (HKU Business School)


What's On

International Society for Quantitative History

The International Society for Quantitative History (ISFQH) is an independent, not-for-profit organization dedicated to promoting, supporting, and enhancing the advancement of education, in particular research and knowledge dissemination in quantitative history, in Hong Kong and other parts of the world.

© 2023 International Society for Quantitative History | Registered Charity Number: 91/15784
All rights reserved.