International Society for Quantitative History

QH Webinar Series

The Year 1000: When Explorers Connected the World — and Globalization Began

20:30 | Thursday, February 25, 2021

Zoom Webinar

English

Valerie Hansen

Valerie Hansen

Stanley Woodward Professor of History, Yale University

Book cover of The Year 1000: When Explorers Connected the World―and Globalization Began

A new system of global pathways formed in the year 1000 AD following the Vikings’ arrival in northeastern Canada. Trade goods, people, and ideas moved along these newly discovered routes. The Year 1000: When Explorers Connected the World―and Globalization Began, written by Yale historian Valerie Hansen, tells the story of the most surprising journeys around the year 1000 took place when speakers of Malayic languages departed from the Malay peninsula and arrived on the island of Madagascar off the east coast of Africa some 4000 miles away. The shipping route from the port of Basra in the Middle East to Guangzhou, China via India and Southeast Asia was the longest maritime pathway in regular use before 1492. Stretching some 8000 miles long, it was nearly twice as long as the distance Columbus covered (4400 miles) when he crossed the Atlantic. In this Quantitative History Webinar, Valerie Hansen takes us back to the year 1000 and discuss how globalization began. For the first time in world history an object or a message could travel all the way around the world. Europeans did not invent globalization. They changed and augmented what had been there since 1000. If globalization had not yet begun in the Americas, Asia, and Africa, Europeans would not have been able to penetrate the markets in so many places as quickly as they did after 1492.

Live on Zoom on February 25, 2021
20:30 Hong Kong/Beijing/Singapore
07:30 New York | 12:30 London | 21:30 Tokyo | 23:30 Sydney

Thursday, February 25, 2021

Zoom Webinar

Valerie Hansen

English

The Quantitative History Webinar Series aims to provide researchers, teachers, and students with an online intellectual platform to keep up to date with the latest research in the field, promoting the dissemination of research findings and interdisciplinary use of quantitative methods in historical research. The Series, now in its third year, is co-organized by the International Society for Quantitative History, HKU Business School, and Hong Kong Institute for the Humanities and Social Sciences. 量化歷史網上講座系列由香港大學陳志武和馬馳騁教授聯合發起,旨在介紹前沿量化歷史研究成果、促進同仁交流,推廣量化方法在歷史研究中的應用。本系列講座由國際量化歷史學會、香港大學經管學院和香港人文社會研究所全力支持和承辦。

Conveners: Professor Zhiwu Chen & Dr. Chicheng Ma (HKU Business School)

What's On

International Society for Quantitative History

The International Society for Quantitative History (ISFQH) is an independent, not-for-profit organization dedicated to promoting, supporting, and enhancing the advancement of education, in particular research and knowledge dissemination in quantitative history, in Hong Kong and other parts of the world.

© 2022 International Society for Quantitative History | Registered Charity Number: 91/15784
All rights reserved.