International Society for Quantitative History


The Ninth Annual Symposium on Quantitative History

July 15, 2023 - July 16, 2023

Shanghai, China

English and Mandarin

Call for papers

We are pleased to announce that the Ninth Annual Symposium on Quantitative History will take place at Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Shanghai, China, July 15 - 16, 2023.

About the symposium

We are pleased to announce that the Ninth Annual Symposium on Quantitative History will take place on July 15 - 16, 2023, and will be hosted by the Department of History, Shanghai Jiao Tong University.

The two-day symposium, organized jointly by the Shanghai Jiao Tong University, University of Hong Kong, Renmin University of China, will provide an opportunity to explore the frontiers, opportunities, and challenges of quantitative history research. The QH Society is delighted to be supporting this annual conference in Shanghai next year. The event consists of plenary sessions by invited speakers, and parallel sessions of accepted papers in English or Chinese.

We now invite submissions of research papers on all relevant historical topics using quantitative approaches including but not limited to:

  • economic and social history
  • political history
  • cultural history
  • business and financial history 
  • archival history
  • archeology

Submissions must be original, previously unpublished papers, either in English or Chinese. Discussants will be assigned for each accepted submission.

Event location

Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Shanghai, China

Further information

Financial support from the organizers may be available to enable presenters in financial difficulty to travel to Shanghai for the conference.

Please email submissions to by April 30, 2023.

All entrant submissions will be informed of the selection outcome by mid-June 2023.

Contact persons: Ms. Peng and Dr. Jiang

Eminent keynote speakers in the previous symposia

The first and second annual International Symposium for Quantitative History was held at Tsinghua University in 2013 and 2014, respectively, while the third and fourth at Peking University in 2015 and 2016, then the fifth at Henan University in 2017, and the sixth and seventh at Yantai Longfor Learning Center in 2018 and 2019, then the eighth at Shanghai Jiao Tong University in 2021.

  • Weimin Bao (Renmin University of China)
  • Sascha O. Becker (Monash University)
  • Peter Bol (Harvard University)
  • Stephen Broadberry (University of Oxford)
  • Cameron Campbell (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)
  • Shuji Cao (Shanghai Jiao Tong University)
  • Eric Chaney (Harvard University)
  • Feng Chen (Wuhan University)
  • Yanliang Chen (National Dong Hwa University)
  • Zhiqiang Chen (Nankai University)
  • Zhiwu Chen (University of Hong Kong)
  • Gregory Clark (University of California, Davis)
  • Xiaonan Deng (Peking University)
  • Xiuqi Fang (Beijing Normal University)
  • William N. Goetzmann (Yale University)
  • Takeshi Hamashita (Sun Yat-sen University)
  • Mark Harrison (University of Warwick)
  • Philip Hoffman (California Institute of Technology)
  • Kris E. Inwood (University of Guelph)
  • James K. S. Kung (University of Hong Kong)
  • Timur Kuran (Duke University) 
  • Jiancheng Lai (National Tsing Hua University)
  • Angela Ki Che Leung (University of Hong Kong)
  • Bozhong Li (Peking University) 
  • Zhen Li (National University of Singapore)
  • William Guanglin Liu (Lingnan University)
  • Denggao Long (Tsinghua University)
  • Debin Ma (University of Oxford)
  • Haijian Mao (University of Macau)
  • Christopher M. Meissner (The University of California, Davis)
  • Kris Mitchener (Santa Clara University) 
  • Joel Mokyr (Northwestern University)
  • Neil Cummins (London School of Economics and Political Science)
  • Sevket Pamuk (Bogaziçi (Bosphorus) University,Turkey)
  • Kaixiang Peng (Wuhan University)
  • Jean-Laurent Rosenthal (California Institute of Technology)
  • Jared Rubin (Chapman University)
  • Carol H. Shiue (University of Colorado)
  • Hans-Joachim Voth (University of Zurich)
  • Patrick Wallis (The London School of Economics and Political Science)
  • Di Wang (University of Macau)
  • Mingfang Xia (Renmin University of China)
  • Weipeng Yuan (Shanghai Jiao Tong University)
  • Noam Yuchtman (University of California, Berkeley)
  • Jan Luiten van Zanden (Utrecht University)
  • Dingxin Zhao (The University of Chicago and Zhejiang University)
  • Zhenman Zheng (Xiamen University)

Speakers are listed in alphabetical order

Saturday, July 15, 2023

Shanghai, China

English and Mandarin

In 2013, co-directors of the Society Zhiwu Chen and Debin Ma, together with their collaborator Denggao Long, started the annual Quantitative History Summer School cum International Symposium in China. Ever since its start, the 9-day summer school would host approximately 120 participants selected from more than 450 mainland, Hong Kong and overseas applicants each year. After 9 years, the quantitative history team has established itself as the key education powerhouse in the quantitative history of China.

What's On

International Society for Quantitative History

The International Society for Quantitative History (ISFQH) is an independent, not-for-profit organization dedicated to promoting, supporting, and enhancing the advancement of education, in particular research and knowledge dissemination in quantitative history, in Hong Kong and other parts of the world.

© 2024 International Society for Quantitative History | Registered Charity Number: 91/15784
All rights reserved.